October 30th, 2017

UF’s Perez of Miami to Represent U.S. at Master’U Collegiate Competition

General News College Tennis Adult Tennis News

Miami’s Alfredo Perez, a junior on the University of Florida men’s tennis team, will represent the U.S. as part of the top American collegians at the annual Master’U BNP Paribas International Collegiate Team Competition, held Nov. 30-Dec. 3 in Marcq-en-Baroeul, France.

Last year the U.S. won its sixth straight Master’U title and seventh in the last eight years. The U.S. will compete against teams from Belgium, China, France, Germany, Great Britain, Ireland and Russia. Each team match consists of two men’s and two women’s singles matches, one women’s and one men’s doubles match and a mixed doubles match.

“Master’U is the Davis Cup and Fed Cup of college tennis, and we are excited to have another strong group of student-athletes and coaches to represent Team USA,” said USTA Collegiate Tennis Director Stephen Amritraj. “Being part of Team USA has evolved into a rite of passage for the best American collegiate players, along with the goals of winning an NCAA team and individual title.”

Other U.S. collegiate players are Ena Shibahara (Soph., UCLA; Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif.), the Intercollegiate Tennis Association’s No. 1-ranked women’s singles player; Ashley Lahey (Soph., Pepperdine; Hawthorne, Calif.), the ITA’s No. 3-ranked women’s singles player; Alle Sanford (Fr., UNC; Westerville, Ohio), women’s singles champion at this fall’s Oracle ITA Masters event; Brandon Holt (Soph., USC; Rolling Hills, Calif.), the ITA’s No. 11-ranked men’s singles player and 2017 Oracle ITA Masters men’s singles champion; and Martin Redlicki (Sr., UCLA; Chicago), a 2017 ITA Men’s All-American Championships singles finalist.

Perez is the ITA’s No. 7-ranked men’s singles player.
Boise State men’s coach Greg Patton and Ohio State women’s coach Melissa Schaub will travel with and coach the team. Past U.S. collegiate players in the Master’U competition include Steve Johnson, Irina Falconi, Austin Krajicek, Maria Sanchez, Mackenzie McDonald, two-time NCAA champion Danielle Collins and Chris Eubanks.
For additional info go to www.master-u-bnpparibas.com/index.php/en.