August 30th, 2018

Preview: 2018 HBCU National Tennis Championships, Events at USTA National Campus

General News Adult Tennis News College Tennis

The 18th HBCU (Historically Black Colleges and Universities) National Tennis Championships, and a host of surrounding events, will be held Sept. 20-23, 2018 at the USTA National Campus in Orlando, Fla.

The championships are open to all HBCU schools, and annually attract upwards of 15 colleges with more than 30 combined men’s and women’s tennis programs and approximately 250 players competing in singles and doubles.

“USTA Florida is proud to be a sponsor of the 2018 HBCU Championships and its first visit to the USTA National Campus,” said USTA Florida Diversity and Marketing Coordinator Maria Romo. “Additionally the High School Combine and the Alumni Battle are going to add to an incredible extended weekend of events.”

The HBCU Championships High School Combine will be held on Sept. 22 from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. All high school players and skill levels are welcome to participate in a showcase in front of college coaches from across the nation. Participants can also learn more about college tennis and the HBCU experience.

The cost is $10 and includes on-court activities and fitness testing, lunch provided, a coaches seminar for players, a parents session, and Win4Life hosted by former WTA player Leslie Allen. Players and parents can register for the High School Combine at

The Alumni Battle will be held on Sept. 22 from 2-5 p.m., pitting Hampton vs. Howard in “The Real HU” battle, and FAMU vs. Bethune-Cookman in “The Florida Classic.” The event is free, and players can register to play or cheer courtside to reconnect and network during the event featuring face painting, a photo booth, music and more.

To become a part of the Alumni Battle, FAMU and Bethune-Cookman alumni can email, and Howard and Hampton alumni can email

Early entries for the HBCU National Tennis Championships include Alabama A&M University, Bethune-Cookman University, Florida A&M University, Jackson State University, Johnson C. Smith University, Morgan State University, North Carolina Central University, Savannah State University, Shaw University, and Virginia State University.

Jackson State University is the defending men’s team champion, and Tennessee State University the women’s team champion.

For more information go to