September 24th, 2019

FSU Named Champions at TOPS’L Battle at the Beach

Adult Tennis News College Tennis

The Florida State men’s tennis team took home the championship title at the 2019 Battle at the Beach Collegiate Team Tennis Invitational after an undefeated performance during the final day of play over the weekend.

The invitational, hosted by the TOPS’L Beach & Racquet Resort in Destin, Fla., on Sept. 20-22, 2019, showcased the Florida State University Seminoles (FSU), the Louisiana State University Tigers (LSU), the Oklahoma Sooners, and the Tulane Green Wave.

Each team had the opportunity to play each other in a round-robin hidden-dual format, with four singles and doubles lines for each match.

Day one saw FSU go 3-1 in singles against Tulane and 2-1 in doubles against LSU; with a close doubles match between the Seminoles’ Rana-Roop Singh Bhullar and Enzo Le Seguillon and the Tiger’s Nick Watson and Ruy Teixeira that resulted in a tie-breaker, 9-7, 7-4.

Day two of Battle at the Beach pitted the Seminoles against the Sooners in doubles play, where the team went on to secure the doubles point 2-1. FSU then met LSU once again on the court to go head-to-head in singles, clinching the series 2-1.[0]=68.ARCiZV49fexG1SqFLe44LMtBMrnzuscvHc2hkjuDjf955zySqw0NDfDqE2DeKWfYtIIuVBwkRRhEzx3ro5_OD-p5D-_2xV9Zvgpr09LmOJ1NoQWi4ISggwU5qiwFPaDvrLuEjiFDRgmAbhP7SsZASEQ8PFcS6mmd5yVR3DscoO1fKN-ws8oLnslzlVsbjyfBRmBMzeFX3rXcoO6Hc-pi3DcXV9JuEKM7_gFzwROIVKgq0UpABt_oCcdDYCXqXX4VafukGrGPH1EwUuiggK151uIA5fFieiIvus7J-8J0cuXru22-CP5UomW0cDdM5RG4mU1lt6twbibC7uIxLLQQiOiQEWrWMxNH&__tn__=-R

Florida State battles the University of Oklahoma for the championship

Florida State pulled out all the stops on the final day of play with a sweep of the doubles hidden-dual against Tulane, with 8-3 and 8-5 wins. The Seminoles continued their domination streak in singles, taking home all four matches against Oklahoma in straight sets.

Final Day Results:

Juan Martin Jalif/Loris Pourroy (FSU) def. Tim Ruetzel/Akos Kotorman (Tulane) 8-3
Rana-Roop Singh Bhullar/Enzo Le Seguillon (FSU) def. Benji Jacobson/Henry Lovett (Tulane) 8-5

Enzo Le Seguillon (FSU) def. Matt Rodriguez (OU) 6-2, 6-2
Juan Martin Jalif (FSU) def. Jochen Bertsch (OU) 6-0, 7-5
Loris Pourroy (FSU) def. Mark Mandlik (OU) 7-5, 6-2
Rana-Roop Singh Bhullar (FSU) def. Max Stewart (OU) 7-5, 7-5