June 29th, 2017

US Open Wild Card Challenge Expands, Gets Wilder in 2017

General News Adult Tennis News Youth Tennis News Pro Tennis

Last year’s women’s wild card winner Sofia Kenin of Florida

The USTA’s US Open Wild Card Challenge gets wilder this year as the point-accumulating event will now include all American players’ results worldwide for the men’s wildcard, and for the women, select USTA Pro Circuit main draws and WTA main draws and qualifying at Washington, D.C. and Stanford.

The men’s challenge will kick off the week of July 10 and conclude the week of Aug. 7, while the women’s challenge will begin the week of July 17 and conclude the week of July 31. The men’s challenge will now be held over five weeks, rather than three weeks, and include the best three results. The women’s challenge will still consist of the best two results over a three-week period.
The American man and American woman who earn the most ATP World Tour and WTA ranking points from their best results will earn main draw wild cards into the US Open. All USTA Pro Circuit tournaments will be streamed live on www.procircuit.usta.com. This is the sixth consecutive year the USTA has used a wild card challenge format to award US Open wild cards for American players.
The US Open Wild Card Challenge will consist of the following events:
Men’s Events:
Week of July 10: Winnetka, Ill. $75,000; Winnipeg, Canada $75,000
Week of July 17: Astana, Kazakhstan $125,000; Gatineau, Canada $75,000
Week of July 24: Atlanta ATP 250; Granby, Canada $100,000; Binghamton, N.Y. $75,000
Week of July 31: Washington D.C. ATP 500; Los Cabos ATP 250; Chengdu, China $125,000; Segovia, Spain 85,000+H; Lexington, Ky. $75,000
Week of August 7: Montreal ATP 1000; Jinan, China $150,000; Aptos, Calif. $100,000; Portoroz, Slovenia 43,000+H

Women’s Events:
Week of July 17: Stockton, Calif. $60,000
Week of July 24: Sacramento, Calif. $60,000
Week of July 31: Washington D.C. WTA; Stanford WTA; Lexington, Ky. $60,000

Past US Open Wild Card Challenge Champions:

2016 — Ernesto Escobedo, Sofia Kenin
2015 — Bjorn Fratangelo, Samantha Crawford
2014 — Wayne Odesnik, Nicole Gibbs
2013 — Bradley Klahn, Shelby Rogers
2012 — Steve Johnson, Mallory Burdette

For additional info go to www.procircuit.usta.com.