August 4th, 2016

Tampa Tennis Blog: Lense Voted H.S. Coach of the Year; JTT Awards; More

Courtside Adult Tennis News Junior Team Tennis

Lense Named Pinellas County Tennis Coach of the Year

Alberto Lense Tennis Tampa

Left to right: Michael Clayton, former wide receiver for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers; Alberto Lense, head coach Osceola Fundamental High School; Mark Robertson, Osceola H.S. assistant principal; Nick Grasso, Pinellas County School director of athletics

Alberto Lense was voted by his fellow coaches to receive the 2016 Pinellas County Athletic Conference Coach of the Year for both boys’ and girls’ teams at Osceola Fundamental High School.

In addition, the Tampa Bay Times newspaper selected Lense the girls’ Coach of the Year.

Lense took on the head coaching position at Osceola in 2012 after serving a two-year stint as assistant coach. In that time, teams have won four district titles, been runner-up three times and grown from 12 to 30 players.

Lense has been around tennis since the 1970s, playing on both high school and college teams, as well as USTA League teams.

He also is very involved in USTA Florida’s Junior Team Tennis. A practicing attorney in the St. Petersburg area, Lense was recently named to the Suncoast Tennis Foundation board, a non-profit community tennis organization with the goal of promoting and developing amateur tennis, especially among the youth.

Junior Team Tennis Summer Awards and Celebration

Pinellas County’s four-week Junior Team Tennis summer season for over 50 players concluded with combined play from South and North county participants. At the celebration, Sportsmanship Awards were presented to a player from each division.

Players recognized for their sportsmanship were Derek Sachs with Green Dot Ball; Greyson Geisness on McMullen Green Dot; Jason Cote on Innisbrook Stars; Arnau Sobs on Treasure Bay 10-and-under; Sara Simmons on Treasure Bay High School team; and Nia Balieva with McMullen High School team

Never, Ever, Say Never for Seminole Lakers Women

2016 Racqueteers
The Seminole Lakers had never won Racqueteers women’s doubles league until three years ago — now they’ve won three consecutive seasons!

Competing among 12 teams, Seminole scored 224 points (a point for each set won), compared to second-place Countryside Country Club’s 215.

Competing for Seminole Lakers were Gail Pierce & Vickie Tuller in No. 1, Donna Dicus & Sandy Martin No. 2, captain Ruth Barnett & co-captain Patricia Conroy No. 3, Cindy Apter & Donna Janssen No. 4, Carol Claudon & Elise Gilbert No. 5 and Trish Montrone & Tori Thrower No. 6.