April 7th, 2015

Preview: 2015 USTA Florida 65 & Over League Tennis Chps.

General News Adult Leagues Adult Tennis News

65_and_over_league_championship_2013Regional USTA League champion teams from across Florida will converge on the Florida Tennis Center in Daytona Beach on April 10-12 for the 2015 Adult 65 & Over League Sectional Championships, featuring the top 65 & Over teams in the Sunshine State.

Counties defending their Florida Sectional titles from last year will be Duval (Women’s 6.0), Sarasota (Women’s 7.0), Collier (Women’s 8.0), Lee-Charlotte (Men’s 7.0), and Hillsborough (Men’s 8.0) which went on to win the national championship.

Teams consisting of three doubles lines will compete in a non-elimination round-robin format. The winner of each flight/division will be determined by team matches won. The winner of each flight will then advance into a single-elimination semifinal followed by the final.

The NTRP (National Tennis Rating Program) scale for doubles progresses from 6.0 to 8.0 combined levels of play for the USTA Florida Adult 65 & Over League Championships. For more information on NTRP levels go to www.usta.com/Adult-Tennis/USTA-League/Information/About_NTRP.

Counties and teams competing this weekend:

Women’s 6.0 Division

Alachua County (Jonesville Tennis Center, Gainesville), captain: Jeanette Parker
Collier County (Pelican Marsh, Naples), captain: Linda Mushock
Duval County (Florida Yacht Club, Jacksonville), captain: Barbara Riffel

Men’s 7.0 Division

Alachua County (DB Tennis Club, Gainesville), captain: Ralph Giro
Collier County (The Players Club & Spa, Naples), captain: David Smith
Hillsborough County (Temple Terrace Tennis Center), captain: Joe Obusek
Lee/Charlotte counties (Herons Glen Tennis Association, Ft. Myers), captain: Larry Blohm
Marion County (The Villages/Glenview, Ocala), captain: Michael James
Pinellas County (Shipwatch Tennis Club, Largo), captain: Thomas Rinehart
St. Johns County (Marsh Creek Country Club, St. Augustine), captain: William Kopf

Women’s 7.0 Division

Collier County (Quail Creek Country Club, Naples), captain: Darleen Cors
Esscambia County (Roger Scott Tennis Center, Pensacola), captain: Carole Cantin
Hillsborough County (Buckhorn Springs Tennis & Swim Club, Valrico), captain: Marilynn Madson
Indian River County (The Boulevard, Vero Beach), captain: Penelope Chambers
Leon County (Forestmeadows Parks & Athletic Center, Tallahassee), captain: Jenny Jolinski
Marion County (Ft. King Tennis Center, Ocala), captain: Margaret Pietrangeli
Nassau County (Amelia Island), captain: Sandy Mann
Pinellas County (East Lake Woodlands Country Club, Oldsmar), captain: Leslie Vann
Polk County (Cindy Hummel Tennis Center, Auburndale), captain: Wanda Crocker
Sarasota County (Sarasota Racquet Club), captain: Julie Harris

Men’s 8.0 Division

Alachua County (300 Club, Gainesville), captain: Pierce Jones
Collier County (The Strand, Naples), captain: George Morton
Hillsborough County (Buckhorn Springs Tennis & Swim Club, Valrico), captain: Jay Bortner
Leon County (Forestmeadows Parks & Athletic Center, Tallahassee), captain: George Kovacs
Nassau County (Amelia Island Plantation), captain: Gary Greenfield
Okaloosa/Walton counties (TOPS’L Beach & Racquet Resort, Miramar Beach), captain: David Edmundson
Pinellas County (Shipwatch Tennis Club, Largo), captain: Stephen Mullis
Polk County (Lake Wales Country Club), captain: James Whitaker

Women’s 8.0 Division

Collier County (Naples Grande), captain: Linda Larkin
Duval County (Independent), captain: Leslie Polsen
Hillsborough County (Hunter’s Green Country Club, Tampa), captain: Janette Rice
Pinellas County (City of Clearwater McMullen Tennis Complex), captain: Sharon Carlile
Polk County (Beerman Family Tennis Center, Lakeland), captain: Joanne Collier
Sarasota County (Palm Aire Tennis Club, Sarasota), captain: Emma Catalini

To see team match schedules go to www.ustaflorida.com/event/2015-adult-65-league-sectional-championship.

For more information on USTA Florida Leagues go to www.ustaflorida.com/adulttennis/usta-leagues.