April 28th, 2015

Preview: 2015 USTA Florida 55 & Over 3.5/4.5 League Tennis Sectionals

General News Adult Leagues Adult Tennis News

USTA League-2Four USTA Florida League Sectional Championships will be up for grabs this weekend when the top 55 & Over teams descend on Daytona Beach for the 2015 USTA Florida Adult 55 & Over 3.5/4.5 League Sectional Championships, held May 1-3 at the Florida Tennis Center.

The teams to beat will be the three returning champions from last year’s sectionals: Indian River County at the Women’s 3.5 level, Marion County at the Men’s 3.5 level, and Broward County at the Men’s 4.5 level.

Teams consisting of three doubles lines will compete in a non-elimination round-robin format. The winner of each flight/division will be determined by team matches won. The winner of each flight will then advance into a single-elimination semifinal followed by the final.

NTRP levels of play will be 3.5 and 4.5. For more information on NTRP levels go to www.usta.com/Adult-Tennis/USTA-League/Information/About_NTRP.

The men’s and women’s NTRP-level winners from Florida will advance to the USTA League Adult 55 & Over 7.0 & 9.0 National Championships on Oct. 30-Nov. 1, 2015 in Surprise, Ariz., at the Surprise Tennis and Racquet Club.

Counties and teams competing this weekend:

Men’s 4.5 Level

Broward County (Tennis Center of Coral Springs), captain: Michael Kelly
Collier County (The Strand, Naples), captain: Richard Dingfelder
Hillsborough County (Avila Golf & Country Club, Tampa), captain: Barney Bailey
Sarasota County (Palm-Aire Country Club, Sarasota), captain: Robert Taylor
St. Johns County (Marsh Landing Country Club, Ponte Vedra Beach), captain: Tom Hack
Pinellas County (St. Petersburg Tennis Center), captain: Randall Meisner

Women’s 4.5 Level

Alachua County (Palm Coast), captain: Ann Harple
Broward County (Weston Tennis Center), captain: Rosemary Haney
Collier County (Kensington Golf and Country Club, Naples) captain: Janet Kauffman
Duval County (Deerwood Country Club, Jacksonville), captain: Helen Ciesla
Hillsborough County (Davis Island, Tampa) captain: Debbie Dawson

Men’s 3.5 Level

Alachua County (DB Racquet Club, Gainesville), captain: Cindy Karaphillis
Broward County (Hawks Landing, Plantation), captain: Daryl Stair
Clay County (Eagle Harbor Tennis Club, Fleming Island), captain: Jimmy Pinkerman
Collier County (Marco Island YMCA, Marco Island), captain: Alan Zuckerman
Escambia County (Roger Scott Tennis Center, Pensacola), captain: David Del Gallo
Hillsborough County (Brandon Sports & Aquatic Center), captain: Joe Izzo
Lee/Charlotte counties (Park Meadows Tennis Center, Ft. Myers), captain: Wayne Jackiew
Marion County (Skyview in Citrus Hills), captain: William Manley
Pinellas County (Innisbrook Resort, Palm Harbor), captain: Richard Willets
Sarasota County (Bath & Racquet Club, Sarasota), captain: Don McMurray
South Miami-Dade County (Miami Jewish Community Center), captain: Gary Friedman
Volusia County, captain: Ken Gaines

Women’s 3.5 Level

Alachua County (300 Club, Gainesville), captain: Christine Borden
Collier County (The Player’s Club and Spa, Naples), captain: Patricia Freeman
Escambia County (Roger Scott Tennis Center, Pensacola) captain: Brenda Sauer
Hillsborough County (Brandon Sports & Aquatic Center), captain: Susan Barroso
Indian River County (Buttonwood Tennis Club, Stuart), captain: Brenday Evans
Leon County (Forestmeadows Park, Tallahassee) captain: Jenny Jolinski
Marion County (Citrus Hills Tennis Center), captain: Ann Sulinski
Okaloosa/Walton counties (Kelly Plantation, Destin), captain: Patricia Smith
Pinellas County (Shipwatch Tennis, Largo) captain: Janice Williams
Polk County (Winter Haven), captain: Glenda Chambers
Sarasota County (Lakewood Ranch Tennis Center), captain: Armentia Thomas
South Miami-Dade County (Doral Park), captain: Terry Jonas
St. Johns County (Ponte Vedra Inn and Club), captain: Mary Overs
Volusia County (Victoria Commons), captain: Dorothy Harris

For match schedules or more tournament information go to www.ustaflorida.com/event/2015-adult-55-3-54-5-league-sectional-championship.