February 12th, 2015

Preview: 20 Club Teams at Florida ‘Tennis on Campus’ Sectional Championship

Adult Tennis News Tennis On Campus

Nine schools and 20 teams will compete next week to see which schools advance to represent the USTA Florida Section at the national championships when the ‘Tennis on Campus’ Florida Sectional Championship is held on Feb. 21-22, 2015 at Sanlando Park in Altamonte Springs, Fla.

Participating schools will be:
Florida Atlantic University (2 teams)
Florida Gulf Coast University (2)
Florida State University (3)
Stetson University (1)
University of Central Florida (3)
University of Florida (3)
University of Miami (3)
University of South Florida (2)
University of Tampa (1)

UF is the defending champion at the event, last year claiming the title for the fifth time in the last six years.

Three Florida schools will advance to the USTA ‘Tennis on Campus’ National Championships — UF as the national Fall Invitational winner earlier in the season, and the Florida Section champion and runner-up (other than UF).

“This year’s series has seen a rebirth for some clubs like the University of Miami and Florida State University, and continued dominance from the University of Florida, alon with steady growth from new clubs like Florida Atlantic and the University of Tampa,” said USTA Florida ‘Tennis on Campus’ Coordinator Desirae McLaughlin. “All of these combined will make for a truly intriguing Florida Section Championships. I can honestly say, I do not know who will win until that last match has been played.”

Last year UF went on to place second at the USTA ‘Tennis On Campus’ National Championship, held in Surprise, Ariz., falling to the University of California-Berkeley 27-13 in the championship match. It was the fourth year out of the last five that UF has finished as the national runner-up at the Tennis On Campus National Championships.

In other Florida team play last year at the national championships, USF made it to the semifinals in the Silver Bracket, and UCF made it into the semifinals in the Bronze Bracket.

The USTA ‘Tennis On Campus’ National Championship is the pinnacle of the nation-wide Tennis On Campus program. Hosted in partnership by the USTA, National Intramural-Recreational Sports Association (NIRSA), World TeamTennis (WTT), and Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA), the annual national championship features 64 college and university co-ed teams competing for bragging rights and the illustrious title of National Champion.

USTA Florida ‘Tennis on Campus’ Year-end Championship Winners:

2014 — University of Florida
2013 — University of Florida
2012 — University of Central Florida
2011 — University of Florida
2000 — University of Florida
2009 — University of Florida
2008 — University of Central Florida
2007 — University of Central Florida
* Prior to 2007, all Florida teams advanced directly to nationals

For more information on the USTA Florida ‘Tennis on Campus’ series go to www.USTAFlorida.com/TennisOnCampus or contact USTA Florida ‘Tennis on Campus’ Coordinator Desirae McLaughlin at tennisoncampusflorida@gmail.com.