World TeamTennis announced its 2020 schedule this week ahead of its 45th season, adding the Chicago Smash to the team tennis series. The WTT regular-season calendar will showcase nine teams and 63 matches over 19 consecutive days from July 12-30.

The Orlando Storm will compete in its second WTT season, last year becoming the first Florida team in World TeamTennis since the Florida Twist played their last season in 1995.

In their debut season the Storm were hot out of the gate with victories over the fellow-expansion-team Vegas Rollers, and then the veteran Orange County Breakers. After the 2-0 start, the Storm dropped six matches in a row before recovering to end the losing streak with a 21-18 win over the Washington Kastles, a team that won five straight league titles in 2011-15. In its next match, the Storm defeated the Springfield Lasers, last year’s league champion, who would go on to qualify for the WTT semifinals, 23-15. The Storm dropped its final four matches to end the season with a 4-10 record.

“After what was undoubtedly the league’s most successful season by many metrics, World TeamTennis continues its positive growth in 2020 with additional expansion for our 45th season,” WTT CEO Carlos Silva said. “In announcing our season schedule, as well as player signings, earlier than in past years, there is an entirely new groundswell of excitement from fans of our nine teams, and for team tennis as a whole, during this time of year.”

2020 Orlando Storm Schedule:

Sunday, July 12 vs. Philadelphia Freedoms
Monday, July 13 at Washington Kastles
Wednesday, July 15 vs. Vegas rollers
Saturday, July 18 at N.Y. Empire
Sunday, July 19 vs. Orange County Breakers
Tuesday, July 21 vs. Chicago Smash
Wednesday, July 22 at Philadelphia Freedoms
Thursday, July 23 vs. N.Y. Empire
Friday, July 24 at Philadelphia Freedoms
Saturday, July 25 at Chicago Smash
Sunday, July 26 at Springfield Lasers
Tuesday, July 28 vs. Chicago Smash
Wednesday, July 29 vs. Washington Kastles
Thursday, July 30 at Washington Kastles

Chicago is World TeamTennis’ third expansion franchise in the past year. The addition of the Orlando Storm and Vegas Rollers grew WTT from six to eight teams in 2019.

Though WTT’s 2020 regular season broadcast schedule will be announced at a later date, select World TeamTennis matches will be aired on CBS Sports and CBS Sports Network and streamed online at ESPN+ and, the league’s official website.

WTT introduced professional team tennis in 1974, with Billie Jean King serving as its co-founder. WTT is one of five active U.S. pro sports leagues that have been in operation for over 40 years, along with the NFL, NBA, NHL and MLB.

For more info on the Orlando Storm go to, and for WTT league info go to