March 21st, 2019

4 Florida Juniors Named to 2019 Team USA Boys’ National Jr. Tennis Team

General News Youth Tennis News

The USTA announced that six top junior boys, four from Florida, qualified for the 2019 Team USA National Junior Team, a training program designed to give a collection of America’s best young players, born 2002-03, opportunities to train together during the summer and travel to play against top junior competition from around the world.

The girls’ team will be selected in May.

Four players earned selection onto the team based on automatic qualification, meanwhile two players qualified for the team through a playoff, held March 11-15 at the USTA National Campus at Lake Nona in Orlando, Fla. Players were invited for the playoff based on ITF World Tennis Tour Junior or USTA national ranking.

The 2019 Team USA Boys’ National Junior Team:

Zane Khan (17, Houston, Texas; Coach: Shariq Khan, Antonio Fernandez, Sebastien Grosjean)
Martin Damm (15, Bradenton, Fla.; Coach: Martin Damm)
Toby Kodat (16, Bradenton, Fla.; Coach: Ales Kodat)
Dali Blanch (16, Deerfield Beach, Fla.; Coach: Mauricio Perez Mota)
Aidan Mayo (15, Roseville, Calif.; Coach: Vahe Assadourian)
Alexander Bernard (15, Bonita Springs, Fla.; Coach: Rene Gomez)

USTA Player Development will provide the team with training opportunities, coaching and travel assistance to select ITF tournaments throughout the summer.

Damm is ranked No. 30 in the ITF World Tennis Tour Junior rankings and was a singles finalist at the Grade A Porto Alegre Junior Championships in Porto Alegre, Brazil earlier this month. Kodat reached the third round of the 2019 Australian Open Junior Championships and is ranked No. 31 in the ITF World Tennis Tour Junior rankings.

Blanch was a finalist at the Grade 1 Cuenca juniors event in Cuenca, Ecuador in February. Bernard, Tennis Recruiting Network’s No. 2-rated prospect in the Class of 2022, guaranteed his spot on the team via the Team USA playoff held last week at the USTA National Campus in Orlando, Fla.

For more info or the full playoff results go to