June 4th, 2015

2015 USPTA Florida Division Awards Recognize Teaching Pros

General News

Organizer_USPTA Logo CircleThe United States Professional Tennis Association (USPTA) Florida Division presented its 2015 awards on May 30,  at the joint USPTA Florida/USTA Florida Semi-Annual Meetings, held at the Naples Beach Hotel and Golf Club in Naples, Fla.

Events included the debut of the one-day tournament format; featured speaker Virgil Christian, ‎USTA Senior Director, Market Development and Collegiate Tennis; installation of the new USPTA Florida Board; the signing of the new USTA Florida-USPTA Florida Cooperation Agreement; a vendor showcase, and more.

“There was over 23 hours of education, camaraderie, networking and fun in a lovely setting,” said USPTA Florida Division Executive Director Pat Anderson.

Among the award winners were Alex Hermeto of the Gateway Golf & Country Club in Ft. Myers, who received both the District Professional of the Year award for District 14 Lee County, and the District President of the Year award.

2015 USPTA Florida Division Award Honorees:

Division Professional of the Year — Chuck Gill, Wellington
College Coach of the Year — Bill Macom, Melbourne Beach
High School Coach of the Year — Billy Almeyda, Vero Beach
Division Tester of the Year — Ben Rakusin, Tamarac
Facility Manager of the Year — Richard Macey, Bradenton
U30 Professional of the Year — Jessica Swanson, Vero Beach

District Professionals of the Year:

District 1 Panhandle — Brett Beattie, Niceville
District 2 Gainesville — Glen Howe, Tallahassee
District 3 Jacksonville — Scott Colebourne, Fernandina Beach
District 4 Central Florida — Angie Zguna, Orlando
District 5 Lakeland — Jeff McCardle, Haines City
District 6 Daytona — Tom Kelly, Daytona Beach
District 7A Tampa — Mirko Pehar, Tampa
District 7B St. Petersburg — Lori Burdell, St. Petersburg
District 8 Sarasota — Michele Krause, University Park
District 9 Vero Beach — Brad Leu, Vero Beach
District 10 West Palm Beach — Dick Stockton, Wellington
District 11 Boca Raton — Ben Rakusin, Tamarac
District 12 Naples — Warren Eber, Naples
District 13A South Miami — Niurka Sodupe, Cutler Bay
District 13B N. Miami Beach/Aventura — Donna Tollefsen, N. Miami Beach
District 14 Lee County — Mike Baugh, Ft. Myers
District 15 Melbourne — Joey Jones, Cocoa Beach
District 16 N.Dade/S.Broward — Ean Meyer, Boca Raton
District 17 Gainesville — Addison Staples, Gainesville
District 18 Bonita Area — Jose Pastrello, Naples
District 19 Keys — Nicole Berger, Key West

District President of the Year — Conrad Cowan, Oviedo

District of the Year — District 18, Bonita Area (Jose Pastrello, President)

Division Players of the Year:

Men’s Open — Paulo Barros, Winter Garden
Women’s Open — Courtney Vernon, Naples
Men’s 35 — Milos Vasovic, Melbourne
Women’s 40 — Susie Brown, Delray Beach
Men’s 45 — Kam Kuchta, Boynton Beach
Women’s 50 — Carolyn Franca, Tampa
Men’s 50 — Alex Ringwald, Wellington
Men’s 55 — Craig Wittus, Boca Raton
Men’s 60 — Mike Barnes, Ft. Myers

For more information or award photos, contact Pat Anderson at usptafl@aol.com.